Dr. Valerie Montgomery Rice, MD, FACOG

President and Dean
Morehouse School of Medicine
Atlanta, GA

Valerie Montgomery Rice, MD, FACOG, provides a valuable combination of experience at the highest levels of patient care and medical research, as well as organizational management and public health policy. Marrying her management skills and strategic thinking to tackle challenging problems, she has a track record of redesigning complex organization's management infrastructures to reflect the needs of evolving strategic environments and position the organization for success.

The sixth president of Morehouse School of Medicine (MSM) and the first woman to lead the free-standing medical institution, Montgomery Rice serves as both the president and dean. A renowned infertility specialist and researcher, she most recently served as dean and executive vice president of MSM, where she has served since 2011.

Dedicated to the creation and advancement of health equity, Montgomery Rice lends her vast experience and talents to programs that enhance pipeline opportunities for academically diverse students, diversifies the physician and scientific workforce, and fosters equity in health care access and health outcomes. To this end, she holds membership in many organizations and boards, such as the following: National Academy of Medicine, National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences, Board of Directors for Kaiser Permanente School of Medicine, Board of Directors for The Nemours Foundation, Board of Directors for UnitedHealth Group, Ni-Q Medical Advisory Team and the Association of American Medical Colleges Council of Deans.

Montgomery Rice has received numerous accolades and honors. She was named to the Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans and received the 2017 Horatio Alger Award. For two consecutive years (2016, 2017) Georgia Trend Magazine selected Montgomery Rice as one of the 100 Most Influential Georgians. Other honors include the following: Trumpet Vanguard Award (2015), The Dorothy Heights Crystal Stair Award (2014), National Coalition of 100 Black Women – Women of Impact (2014), YWCA – Women of Achievement (Atlanta-2014 and Nashville-2007), American Medical Women’s Association Elizabeth Blackwell Medal (2011) and Working Mother Media Multicultural Women’s Legacy Award (2011).