Emma Schwartz, CEcD

Medical Center of the Americas Foundation
El Paso, TX

Emma W. Schwartz is the President of the Medical Center of the Americas (MCA) Foundation, a non-profit operating in El Paso, Texas and Juarez, Mexico. The MCA is the master planner for the medical campus, and it developed the first private biomedical incubator in the region: the Cardwell Collaborative – 60,000 sf of wet-labs, dry-labs, data room, office space, collaboration spaces, etc. The MCA also funded the TTUHSC Gayle Greve Hunt School of Nursing building and is developing a 33,000 square foot mental health clinic for veterans. The MCA’s Innovation Center supports technology start-up companies through incubation, acceleration and proof-of-concept funding. The MCA also manages BIO El Paso-Juarez, a bi-national biomedical cluster group. The MCA has raised over $60 million from the City of El Paso, EDA, foundations and local philanthropists. Before the MCA, Ms. Schwartz worked in healthcare management, revenue cycle improvement and regulatory compliance for a variety of healthcare companies, including Tenet Healthcare and Sinaiko Healthcare Consulting. Her community involvement is extensive. Ms. Schwartz is a director on the board of WestStar Bank where she chairs the Audit Committee. She is the board chair of the PDN Center of Hope anti-human trafficking organization, the chair of the Youth and Education Committee for Workforce Solutions Borderplex, and a founding director of Progress321, a young professional’s organization. She is on the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas’ Emerging Leaders Council and the co-chair of El Paso’s chapter of Stanford OVAL. In 2016, she was inducted into the El Paso Business Hall of Fame, and she was named 2017’s El Pasoan of the Year. Ms. Schwartz received her BA in Human Biology and Comparative Health Policy from Stanford University and her MPH in Health Services Management from UCLA.

Visit IEDC's homepage

Contact Us

  • Address: 734 15th Street NW, Suite 900, Washington, DC 20005

  • Phone: (202) 223-7800

  • Email: staff directory

Follow Us